Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

3d printing software

I am extremely new to the world of 3D printing (I don't even have a printer yet). I've been looking into some of the software programs for making 3D files just to see if I can do it and I'm having some troubles. I have 0 CAD experience so even the basic programs are a little hard for me to use. Is there any programs that are super simple for a beginner? I just want to make a simple C-link. Are there any places to have someone else make the file for you?
    I've been playing with the autodesk 123D, but am having difficulties making my link. Any help/tips for a noob?

Engineer-in-Training
    CAD is relatively straight forward once you get past the initial learning curve but getting there can be tough if you have no background in it. I have tons of experience in solidworks and pro-e (effectively the same thing) but nothing in 123D so I can't really help with specific tips. Best bet would be to look up some basic tutorials and start with those. It's boring as hell to model stuff that you don't care about while you learn but learning by doing in CAD is very effective at least until you have the fundamentals down.