Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

CubePro review? or UPrint SE?

I am trying to decide between a CubePro Trio ($5,000) or the Stratasys UPrint SE ($17,000). Does anyone have first hand experience on either one? The Cube Pro is fairly new and I haven't seen any thorough reviews. I think the UPrint has a longer history out there. Any info would be great. This is for a 3D Fabrication course. We need a reliable FDM Printer, and the Makerbot Replicator 2 we have just isn't cutting it. I need the next thing up from that.

Thanks

Karen

Engineer
    Karen, i have no personal experience with either one but i can tell you the college here recently got the uprint. I know the guy who runs the dept and he said he was not impressed with it at all. Its already been broken 1/2 the time they have had it and the prints are so weak they are useless. Again i have never seen or used it. Just passing along some info.

Student
    Full disclosure, I resell CubePros via Fargo 3D Printing. Shameless plug out of the way, here's my thoughts.

If you consider a Replicator 2 unreliable, you're either using it wrong, putting cheap materials into it, or have a lemon. It IS possible you have a lemon, they do happen! We have 4 Rep 2's that we run day in and day out. Yes, they clog occasionally, but it's about once every 300-500 hours. Not too bad.

The CubePro is a very well built machine. The CubeX, the previous generation of the CubePro, is a piece of trash worth more as scrap material than as a printer. Seriously, night and day difference.

Loading the material into the CubePro is a bit timeconsuming, but the machine guides you through it well enough, giving step by step instructions via a touchscreen. The touchscreen should really be about an inch bigger and not recessed into the bezel like it is. If you have fat fingers, you'll want to us an "unclicked" ballpoint pen. It's a resistive, not capacitive touchscreen.