Close

Question issues after filament change

Hi,I have a Creality Ender-3 Pro and am using a PLA+ filament. I edited my firmware to enable print pausing via the M600 command inserted into my gcode so that I can change filament colors at certain levels. Everything works fine with it, except when I resume printing, the filament doesnt stick to the existing part that was already there. Im fairly new to 3D printing, but my thoughts are that maybe its because the bed has cooled down? Or maybe when the print head returns to the part, the z axis may be too high? All guesses of course! If anyone has any thoughts on this, please help me out. Thanks!

Staff Engineer
    The bed should not have cooled down sufficiently to affect the print, especially when one considers that the bed temperature is related to model adhesion and not to inter-layer adhesion.

Consider to edit/add the temperatures you are using, as well as the recommended temperatures for the filament. It's possible that you could solve the problem by kicking up the temperature another five or ten degrees for the layers after the print resumes.

OK, So I added another M code right after the filament change to heat the filament to its maximum range which is 220 before resuming the print. I started the print at 200, which is the minimum. I also slowed the print speed down from 50 to 30 thinking this might help. I still have the same issue though.

Quote Originally Posted by fred_dot_u View Post
    The bed should not have cooled down sufficiently to affect the print, especially when one considers that the bed temperature is related to model adhesion and not to inter-layer adhesion.

Consider to edit/add the temperatures you are using, as well as the recommended temperatures for the filament. It's possible that you could solve the problem by kicking up the temperature another five or ten degrees for the layers after the print resumes.

Staff Engineer