Close

Ender 3 Pro - Attempting Calibration Print on used printer

I'm brand new to 3D printing. I just bought a used Ender 3 Pro from someone I trust and they tell me it's been functioning well. I've been doing some reading and watching videos and most of what I've read says you can often improve print quality so that's what I'm trying to do. I understand a level bed is likely the biggest culprit and therefore I start with this -> https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2987803. The Gcode seems to be working as intended. It's traced the 4 corners and I've adjusted the springs so that a single piece of paper has slight resistance between the extruder and the bed. After two rounds of plate adjustment, I start the print. My print is terrible and I abort after about 2 rounds or so.

Issues:
    1. some filament seems to extrude on its own as it gets ready to start. This causes a "Clot" on the end of the extruder which doesn't adhere initially. After a few seconds, it starts to adhere but it all comes off as one large "glob".
    2. Adherence seems very poor and only about half or less of the filament being placed is sticking. I intially assumed this was poor height with my base being too low but I've attempted a few prints now raising the bed slightly to increase resistance to the paper test and it's the same results.
    3. After printing for a bit some filament that had been adhering is pulled off. This doesn't seem to be related to the extruder actually pulling it off but more related to the filament never being very well adhered.

I've attached a picture of what my plate looks like after the two rounds. There's clearly only a very small amount of filament adhering.

I'm not sure how to troubleshoot this due to my lack of experience and would be grateful for any guidance.
    Thank you
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Bikeracer2020; 09-10-2022 at 10:38 AM.

Super Moderator