Close



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    379

    What will improve this ?

    I am having problems with surface finish on my Qidi XC-Pro. there is a raised extrusion where one part of the infill is extruded and overlaps as it meets the previous part infill.
    Qidi support suggests Prusa slicer might work better than their own.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    8,795
    weird, is it thomas ?

    prusa slicer can't hurt.

    surprised you don't have simplify3d.

    Definitely not something I've ever had.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    379
    Not something I've ever seen before either.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    8,795
    hmm, have you checked the design file ?

    It genuinely looks like two faces, an outline and a cutout.

    Particularly seeing how offset it is from the cutout and how universal.

    Even if it was embedded level with the surface of the model, and effectively invisible in the design program, it could still show up like that.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    379
    It's a flat print extruded to 3mm thick.

    The problem is that each layer gets infilled up to where the cut out is, then some of it has the infill started wherever it can extrude an uninterupted line. After that it fills in between wherever it left off.

    It doesn't just fill in up to the cut out, do a 'Z' hop over it and start on the other side, if that helps to explain what's happening.

    The layers are put down in a diagonal pattern and the next layer is put down at 90 degrees to the previous layer.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    8,795
    how many outlines are you using ?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by curious aardvark View Post
    how many outlines are you using ?
    Not really sure what you mean by outlines.

    It's just a rectangle wiith a smiley type face on it drawn in Fusion 360 and then just extruded up 3mm where it is solid, this leaves the face parts open with no extrusion in them and daylight shows through them.

    It's for placing vertically on a fence to stop cats walking on it up to the bird table.

    It's just sliced laying flat with ' Lines ' set as the infill skin patern top and bottom.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Bikeracer2020; 05-02-2022 at 02:02 AM.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    8,795
    print settings usually consist of outlines, top and bottom layers and infill.

    I usually use 3 outlines, 3 top and 3 bottom layers.

    But for somethings a single outline works better.

    You can also go with no outlines and have everything infill.

    this print has 3 outlines.


    The slicer considers anything bordering a void to be an edge, so uses outlines.
    It could well be the putlines that are causing your ghosting.
    If you try it with 1 or 0 outlines, could fix the issue.

    All I can think of, either that or something to do with the extrusion process.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    379
    I think that outlines are called walls in the slicers that I've used, not that what trhey are called matters anyway.
    From memory I think that it could have been four walls, I just used the Qidi settingsfor ABS apart from a lower bed temp and a higher extruder temp of five degrees in each case.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Student 3dpp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13
    How was the file made? Its funny cause where those lines are in the print reminds me of when you do a boolean operation for subtracting one part from another(resulting in the 3d modeler/cad software to add extra polygons in that area). Interesting problem tho.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •