Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Add printbus on Thingiverse

Recovery from garbled Marlin LCD display

How prevalent is the problem of the Marlin LCD panel displaying garbled data? My MakerFarm 8-inch i3v does it once in a while - often enough to just be annoying.

Having written LCD interface code before, I've looked at what is supposed to be displayed and the actual garbled display. Turns out the screen effect is very predictable once it gets into this garbled mode. I have an idea for a firmware change that would recover from this, but I don't want to futz with it if this isn't a common problem.

EDIT: My reluctance to futz with this is simply that I'm new to looking at the Marlin software and it would take me some time to figure out how the LCD interface is implemented. If there's someone out there that already understands the interface, I could share what I think we could do to fix this so that person could give it a whirl.

Last edited by printbus; 05-02-2015 at 08:32 PM. Reason: migrated to offsite image storage due to 3DPrintBoard issues

Unfortunately for you.... I don't have an LCD Panel or I would jump in and help you! There are a lot of different modules and communication methods for the different panels. It might make sense to see which panels are 100% reliable and compare their interface code against what you have. If you can get consensus on what the most reliable one is... I'll take a look. It might be they have pushed the timing or something a little bit too far and warming over the interface code makes things better. But that is pure speculation.

Senior Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxy View Post
    But that is pure speculation.
    That is a whole lot more than speculation, it is years of hands on experience.

What I've seen so far in the code is pretty generic, thanks to the Hitachi controller chip and clones that pretty much every LCD uses. The Marlin code quickly leverages Arduino library stuff for the LCD functions.