Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Technician

Strange issue on outside one one side and only vertically

Never seen this before. Using PLA. I have been experimenting some lately w/ increasing the speed and layer height. Also using a different filament. I recently went from my normal .22mm to .28 and also from 50mm/s for print speed, 45mm/sec for outside perimeter and 50mm/sec for infill to 60/60/100 mm/sec. I cannot see it being perimeter speed given the rest of it is perfect. Given it's only in one spot makes me feel something is weird w/ the printer all the sudden just when the printhead is right at that location, not so much print speed/filament Is there a name for this imperfection so perhaps I can do a bit more research on my own also?

Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images

Technician
    So as an update I print3ed another similar box w/ the same settings I've been using for 5+ years problem free and the same issue happened. Oddly (as you'll see in the attached pic) there was about 1" of vertical print that was perfect? It only happens on one side in this one area. Anyone have any input? I also had printed something about the same circumference as this in a different filament the day before and it was fine. Granted it was only a 2mm shell but same circumference which may be the issue here. I just printed a small 20mm calibration cube to see if it would do it there and it did not. I feel it may be a retraction issue at larger distances and it didn't do it w/ the 2mm shell print because it just kept going around and wasn't having to retract and travel a great distance. Not sure though, I'd have to go through the G code to see how it starts next layer. Even if that was it though, why would i have a good 20 or so layers w/ NO defect as shown in pic?
    Last edited by TTVert; 09-19-2021 at 11:18 AM.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    going on the slow speeds - are you using an ender 3 by any chance ?