Close

Thread: Layer Failure

Layer Failure

While I am not very experienced, this is a first for me--I printed the construct shown and the smaller "screw" broke radially (perpendicular to the axis).

The walls are 1.2mm and I am using a 0.2mm layer---thus 6 layers for the print. THEN--I thread the assembly at 10-32 (US). No surprise that it broke. I have some recourse here and am not worried (yet) but this brings to mind-

>>Is there a recommended number of layer-thickness-to-layer-number past which structural integrity becomes and issue?

RegardsFritz
    Attached Files Attached Files

Staff Engineer
    If the model was printed vertically, the layers are the weakest possible. It's always challenging to get a strong screw thread when dealing with small diameter parts and in this case hollow internal sections. It's like a stack of pennies compressed end-to-end when the stack is pushed out of column. The layers (pennies) crack and everything goes to pieces.

I've seen videos in which the printer operator prints the screw assembly horizontally in order to get the best strength. Unfortunately, this means that the bed is tangent to the thread, and that means very little contact with the bed. The best one I've seen is with a screw that has a segment shaved off along a chord, which provides a much flatter surface to the bed and results in the strongest possible model. For some, this option won't work, as the thread is discontinuous, but that doesn't interfere with anything that has to be attached; it merely looks unusual.

Thanks Fred. Good points. I note that Fusion places the parts on the bed horizontally to begin with-I am not sure how much thought goes into that. I didn't like that orientation because of the added supports which of course make rough threads. That said I am chasing the threads with a tap and die.