Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How to pick a suitable 3D printer

Hi,
    I am going to buy a 3D printer, there are so many models and prices on the market, how to find a proper one please?
    I used in home generally.
    Thanks
    Adam
    Last edited by laoadam; 04-24-2021 at 01:11 PM.

Technologist
    How's your computing/mechanical/electrical skill level?What sort of budget?

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    basically start with the most money you can afford and where you want to keep it.

They can be both noisy and smelly. The noise levels are rapidly coming down as silent motor srivers become more common. But some filaments still create quite an obnoxious smell.

But the main thing is how much can you afford.

Quote Originally Posted by Martin_au View Post
    How's your computing/mechanical/electrical skill level?What sort of budget?
    Thanks.
    I am a mechanical engineer, and good at DIY, I can make one, but the time...
    Willing to spend ~300.

Quote Originally Posted by curious aardvark View Post
    basically start with the most money you can afford and where you want to keep it.

They can be both noisy and smelly. The noise levels are rapidly coming down as silent motor srivers become more common. But some filaments still create quite an obnoxious smell.

But the main thing is how much can you afford.
    Thanks.
    I was planed around $300? and put into garage. actually I am looking for a quite machine if the smell is inevitable?

• Choose the Right Printing Technology.
    • Find the Compatible Material.
    • Determine the Size of the Object You Want to Print.
    • Consider the Printing Speed.
    • Think About Your Skill Level.
    • Find a Suitable Location for the Printer.
    • Wrap Up.

I'm still trying to work out if mr SKP is a particularly astute Ai spam bot, or an actual person who talks in bulletpoints lol

$300 is an interesting area.