Close

Beginner to 3d printing not sure what printer to get happy the pay up to $2000

Hi i am a beginner to 3d printer and have been looking for a printer but there are so many models and they vary in price a lot. I'm happy to pay up to £1500 ($2000), I don't want to get a cheap printer to only have to replace it after a short while, any advice would be much appreciated.
    Rob

Technologist
    Most cheap printers don't need to be replaced. Instead they tend to be more like the Ship of Theseus. Just replace bad/worn parts with new/better.

What do you want to print?

I would like to print quite a lot of diffrent size things from small-ish model's, peces for props/cosplay and parts for prototyping things. For this reason I was thinking a bigger printer would be more useful than a small. It does not have to be the highest print quality as I will finish off models and stuff but I want to get the best I can to save me some time on finishing. I hope that makes sense and thanks for the reply.

Technologist
    Hmmm, That's a similar issue I faced recently. I had to build a custom machine as there isn't much in the market that fits the "big, decent quality, reliable, easy to use" market. There's a whole bunch of cheap machines, some of which work decently and some of which ....don't. There's a handful of machines that are reasonably high quality, generally easy to use, and reliable, but usually with smallish build volumes (Prusa, Flashforge Creator). Then there's the high end machines, with associated price tags.

Perhaps check out the Artillery Sidewinder. It's very well priced, but also not too cheap. It has a fairly decent design and is a well balanced machine, with a hotend and extruder design that matches the build volume. More importantly, from what I've seen, spare parts and support are easily available, and there's a decent community that can offer support. Firmware appears to be maintained on github, and is a Marlin version.