Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Slicers and Print Speeds

I am looking a bit at print rates (don't we all!) and I have the simple object in the attachment in hand here. Using Gcode from Fusion 360 it takes 4 hours with medium quality--I am not very experienced with 3D printers and don't have high expectations for speed but I thought this was a bit much. So--I took the STL and sliced it with Cura and it now sits at about 9 hours!I have the walls and infills set up for what I consider reasonable values for this item (it is a sliding dovetail and must be reasonably smooth running and strong.) Changing infill did not have much effect. My printer head speeds are in the 50s in keeping with dogma for my printer (Creality).I was just curious if this is all expectable (the 4 hour print from Fusion) or do others find this a bit long?ThanksFritz
    Attached Files Attached Files

Martin--
    In Fusion----If I match your parameters exactly I get 3:24.
    In Cura - I get 3:35
    (sorry for the confusion on Cura but I had infill at 100%---I am not that familiar with it)

So--you have verified that I (or the software) is not doing something crazy. We now have all 3 in agreement. My edging towards 50% infill was perhaps a bit overkill.

I know these things are slow but for this part I thought it would be a little faster--and then I am not certain how the narrow edges will hold up--nor how smooth it will operate.3D parts are pretty crude.
    Probably this will go to my milling machine and some delrin ---only takes a half hour including finding the stock and grabbing a beer!.

I appreciate your time--it was pretty helpful as I am new to the 3D stuff.
    Fritz

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    seems about right.

You may well have unrealistic expectations of print speeds :-)

What you could do is to increase the layer height to 0.3mm
    cuts the print time by 1/3
    And ten minutes with a file gets it as smooth as a 0.2mm print.