Close

Technician

Ender 3V2 Missing screw

Just opened my first Creality 3D printer (a gift, bought via Amazon). On carefully checking all items there appears to be a screw missing from this component:

MissingScrew.jpg

As a newbie I'd appreciate advice on the easiest/quickest way to buy this item please. It will take me a long time to build this machine, and I'd like to have a full set of parts before I start!

Terry, UK

Staff Engineer
    The easiest method to replace the screw is to remove the remaining one, visit a hardware store or nuts and bolts supply house and ask for a duplicate. You can ensure that the missing screw is the same type by inserting the removed screw in the empty spot, confirming the match. Also you can measure the diameter (metric), length and thread pitch to ask for a allen head cap screw of the appropriate size, specify metric.

Technician
    Thanks Fred. So far I could not find one matching it in Screwfix or Homebase. I've also emailed Creality.

From the attached can anyone tell its technical specification please?

MissingScrew-3.jpg

Missing Screw-2.jpg

Terry

Staff Engineer
    That's a fairly peculiar looking thread. It's almost as if it was cut twice in error. The correct measurement is not 13 mm, though, as you should measure from the underside of the head to the end of the bolt. Also needed is diameter.

Consider to locate a similar diameter bolt from a local source, regardless of head and length, to test fit into the threads. I suspect that this remaining bolt is to be considered defective/faulty. Finding an undamaged bolt that threads in easily will give you precise diameter and thread pitch and simple measurement will give you length, then search for cap head machine screw to match those specifications.

Engineer-in-Training
    Hi Terry