Close

Question Support issues - HELP!

I'm a 3D printing noob and I'm having trouble getting to grips with supports. I tried to print this Assassin's Creed bust and as you can see from the pics, I have some parts that have not printed properly at all! The straps and buckle across the chest and the sword/sheath across the back failed to print in places, and what did print fell apart. But then there's support under the chin that I've been unable to pull out! Any ideas how I could have printed this better please?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by AndersHTID; 01-13-2021 at 03:58 PM.

Oh and I should state the settings used

I printed on an Ender 3 Pro, using Standard settings in Cura 0.2mm Layer Height, 20% Infill, Supports everywhere. I think I used ZigZag supports at 15% if I remember rightly...

Would "tree supports" be better?

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    well the only place I can see that might need supports is the inside of the hood at the top.

You might find that the model actually doesn't need supports at all.

Also for complex models print it at the best resolution you can.
    So for most models you want 0.1mm.

Retractions looks good, so speed is fine.

Me I'd print it 0.1 mm, then see where it needs supports and add them in manually and ONLY at the places it really needs them.

Slicers are notorious for just adding them everywhere there is a slight overhang.

What you will find is that often you geta better result by sanding an area printed wthout supports then by the mess left behind when you remove supports.

Okay things to buy that will help you: a set of micro files: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Draper-8257...0628736&sr=8-5
    Some sanding blocks: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Coral-Tools...0628779&sr=8-5

and a cheap battery powered engraving tool: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Silverline-...0628843&sr=8-5

They will help immensely of both removing supports and cleaning up printed items :-)