Close

correct Z-offset is too low

Hi there,
    I’m new to 3D printing. Got an Artillery Sidewinder X1.
    After a few very satisfying first prints I successfully used a tutorial to fit a BLtouch sensor, printed the mounts for it etc…

The problem I’m facing now is that the Z-offset, when correctly adjusted produces obviously wrong results: the skirt is so thin that it’s almost invisble and also the rest of the first layer looks awful. The end result is ~0.5mmm less high than it should be. The skirt and the printed piece stick so hard to the plate that I literally have to cut them off it. The skirt is almost like a coating on the glass.

I achieve correct/better results when I use a slightly higher offset (-1.8 instead of -2.10).I have verified via G-codes that the printer uses indeed the adjusted Z value and I’ve measured that the -2.10 offset is the “good” one, where a thin piece of paper is just stuck between nozzle and plate.I have done some tests without filament to ensure no drop is under the nozzle messing with the test-paper.Before I used the same piece of paper for manually levelling the bed and had zero issues.

On a related subject: before flashing the mainboard and the display, the entire printer behaved differently. The sound of the motors was different, “smoother” and I never had filament dripping out of the nozzle when it moved between the two lines one the side of the bed and the actual print-piece. Now I have this on a regular basis.

It almost seems like the stock firmware was better optimized, although both of course are Marlin.The actual results are still good as far as I can tell, but the different soundtrack bothers me. There is a whining, and sometimes a ratteling noise which wasn't there before.

So these are several questions in one, but they seem related. Anybody here who can give me some advice?