Close

Looking for guidance on purchasing a 3D printer for Acrylic or similar

I apologize in advance, I'm very new to 3D printing. I'm looking for a 3D printer that can print a clear plastic/acrylic part. I attached a drawing of the part I'm looking for. Square tubing will fit over the smaller ends and it will act as a connector. The piece will be highly visible and decorative, so it needs to look like good. I don't mind flame polishing or acetone polishing the final pieces.

1) What machine do you recommend that could accomplish this?
    2) What filament is closest to what I'm looking for? PMMA?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Engineer-in-Training
    Add jamcultur on Thingiverse
    Do you need transparent parts, or would translucent be good enough? It's hard to get truly transparent parts by 3D printing. It's easier with a resin printer than a filament printer. There are many web pages on polishing 3D printed resin.

If you only need a few parts, you might want to consider a 3D printing service that prints transparent materials. Here's one (I haven't tried them, so I don't know if they are any good.)
    https://forerunner3d.com/3d-printed-...printed-parts/

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Yeah basically you need a resin printer.
    I've seen crystal clear lenses made on a form2 printer.

A cheap resin machine can be had for under $200.
    There are a bunch of odour and safety issues associated with resin printing - not to mention the post processing in isopropyl alcohol and a UV illuminator.

But you can get a crystal clear print.

As far as size goes - what measurements are the units in ?
    For 3d printintg you really need to be working in millimetres NOT inches.
    basically it makes more sense and all the software assumes millimetres.

If you need fdm - then don't think transparent - think decorative.
    There are some stunning filaments around at the moment that look a lot better than just transparent.