Close

Student

Question about filament life

Hi All, I am a newbie with a recently purchased Ender 3 Pro.
    I added a glass bed and Capricorn tubing after purchase.
    For several weeks it has worked just fine. I use only PLA.
    Some days ago it started to fail early on in printing - just a mess of filament on the plate.
    So I read the forums and did the following:
    Replaced the hot end head (assumed blocked) and associated bowden tube
    Double/triple checked the bed is level.
    Used only default settings for several different prints.
    Attached image is a failure example. Filament everywhere!!
    Now, my question please:
    Could this be due to filament being left exposed?
    I have three reels of filament and they are not stored in a sealed dry container - just the original unsealed plastic bag with the original tiny silica gel sachet.
    Purchased in July so stored for about 8/10 weeks. One reel left on the printer when not in use.
    I have tried using two different filaments with the same results.
    Is there any way to test/check if a filament reel has 'gone off'?
    If it's too brittle, should it snap off by hand.
    I am hoping the problems are due to bad filament. How might I know?
    Any other comments appreciated.
    3DM
    Last edited by ThreeDeeMan; 09-29-2020 at 06:20 PM. Reason: Improve the formatting

Engineer-in-Training
    Add jamcultur on Thingiverse
    It's probably not the filament. PLA doesn't go bad that quickly.

Engineer-in-Training
    to be honest this seems to be a classic case of the print coming of the bed plate. Have you cleaned the surface recently.
    Use acetone for preference.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    essentialy getting the first layer right is 99% of 3d printing.

To be sure of a good layer:
    1) calibrate the bed, then do it again - use 80-90gsm paper and it shoudl just slide between the nozzle and the bed with a little friction.