Close

Help with continued failed prints.

Hi all, I hope I'm in the correct section for this. I'm new to 3D printing and I need some advice on my ender 3 pro, as I'm continually have prints fail a portion of the way through. I wake up/come home to the print still in progress, however the filament has snapped at the extrudedr and is spiralling out further as the job continues. This has happened now to many different things I've tried printing and it's really frustrating as I have no idea what could be causing it.

Add Roberts_Clif on Thingiverse
    I have had filament break before I made my single sheet of plywood dual 3D Printer case.

The Twins 2018-3.jpg

I can not say that the filament inside my enclosure has not broke,
    though it has reduced filament breakage.

I have also found the 7 inch rolls of filament break,
    more often than the 8 inch rolls of filament by a exponential factor...

Student
    I've had a couple of snaps due to the spool jamming / the filament getting caught. Of course once it's snapped the evidence disappears .... If you havent printed up some guides and rollers yet, I'd definitely do that to ensure that nothing can jam. The extruder motor has plenty of power to snap filament : I was just lucky to be there once when it jammed and realised what was happening before it actually broke. In that case the internal webs of the spool caught on the spool holder. My advice is to get lots of different types of spool holder for different size spools. spool holder feeder.jpgfilment feeder.jpg This one for example tapers out from the centre so there's nothing to catch and it takes small diameter spools. However I did feel the need to wrap it in PTFE tape to improve the friction.

Hi, just wanted to say thankyou both for the responses and I apologize it took a while for me to respond, as I've been busy at work. Could I send you both a couple images to show exactly what's been happening with my printer, as I don't think I explained it very well?