Close

ABS warping bad, first time printing.

ive been printing with PLA for several months now and wanted to try my hand at ABS and so far no such luck. Ive only tried the one item and tried it 3 ways, no brim - bad. Brim at 7mm was meh, then a raft at stock settings and this one actually warped the worse, it actually broke free from the raft. I printed at 240c and bed at 110c with a mylar blanket over the top to keep ambient temp up as well (which worked well). I know my bed is level. I am printing on blue painters tape over glass bed which is sticking just fine. The final product is stuck well and has to cool completely to be removed. Is there something else I could be doing to prevent the corners from warping? Thank you.
    Last edited by AlwaysBanned; 05-30-2020 at 12:08 AM. Reason: Typo

when you design a model try and not leave sharp edges or pointed corners. I print a lot of abs but most of what I print is small .. long thin stuff warps more. Having the enclosure at a stable 50C and no way for out side air to enter will go a long way to stop warping. Also a very accurately level bed with the z offset set to just .02 closer then perfect (perfect being the item printed is exactly the height of the object) will also help. You may want to try Polymide tape rather than painters for ABS..
    Good luck!

Follow Davo On Twitter Add Davo on Facebook Add Davo on Google+ Add Davo on Shapeways Add Davo on Thingiverse
    Your post says PLA but the title says ABS.

For ABS, get rid of the blue tape. Apply a light (1 second) coating of EXTRA HOLD hair spray (like Aqua Net) directly onto the heated glass. Ambient temperature also helps. Remember, most ABS prints will shrink 1.5% when they cool to room temperature, so scale up your stl before slicing.

I was probably tired when I made the post, I edited it. thank you.