Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Dual extruder printer for $2500?

As the title says, I am looking for a dual extruder printer with a budget of about $2500. I am fairly new to 3d printing and am a little lost. I just built a reprapguru prusa from a kit and want something better. Dual heads for printing water soluble support structures on printed objects. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions. Thank you! -Jay

Staff Engineer
    I have a BCN3D Technologies Sigma 16, which is a couple versions behind the current crop of IDEX machines. Independent Dual Extruder printers are great for your reference to water soluble supports. I've been using mine with ABS on one side and HIPS on the other, but not dissolving it, as the disparate materials separate quite easily and leave clean surfaces.

Software today recognizes the cost of the support material and uses the stock material (PLA, ABS, etc.) up to the interface and then puts a few layers of support in place. Big money savings as a result.

The Sigma line supports mirroring and duplication, which uses both heads simultaneously to double the output if you don't require support.

One of the reviews I watched regarding the model line criticizes the bed heating and I recognize that it's somewhat uneven, but it hasn't caused me much trouble. The glass bed sits a millimeter above the heater and the air doesn't transfer heat as well as direct contact, which means it takes longer to heat up and also has a cold perimeter. I use Elmer's glue stick (purple) to prevent problems in that respect.

It's not an enclosed printer, but I slapped a sheet of acrylic over the front opening and get great ABS results. I think nylon would be challenging, but I've printed NinjaFlex with minimal problems and a good bit of stringing.