Close

Student

Tronxy XY-2 Pro good for a newbie?

I know nothing about 3D printing, but I'm looking for my 1st 3d printer and I think I want the Tronxy XY-2 Pro.I've got some questions I hope someone can answer. Sorry is these questions seem dumb, but I'm new to this.Based on my limited research on this printer, it seems it's a slow printer, at least on paper, and it can't print in TPU, can that be changed? What's the limiting factor that would prevent someone from printing in TPU or some other material? It seems the extruder and bed temp seem high enough that it should be able to print in most anything. Is it worth the difference in cost to get the titan extruder? How about a direct drive extruder? BTW, is there a better printer at similar cost I should look at? I was thinking about the Ender 3 Pro, but being new, I really like the idea of having an auto leveling bed.Thanks!

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    auto levelling on an I3 is kind of not that much use.
    You have to do the manual bed levelling. All the 'auto level' does is map irregularities in the bed's surface.
    And it's much simpler to just replace a non-flat print bed with a flat print bed.

Personally the tronxy xy looks like an ender 3 clone - so I wouldn't touch either with a long bargepole.

If you want a tronxy go for the x5sa pro.
    Had good reports on those.

But ANY ender model or clone thereof - I would not recommend to a new user, or an old one for that matter.
    Just a really crap design, and pretty much guarenteed to give you lots of problems.

Student
    Although I would rather have the x5sa pro, the pricing is basically double. Is the reason you're against it is because it doesn't have dual z-axis? After more research last night, I did find out that a Titan extruder is a direct drive extruder and can print TPU and other flexible materials, so it seems it's needed if one goes with the XY-2 Pro.