Close

Thread: Help with setup

Student

Help with setup

I am new to 3d printing I just recently bought an Ender 3 for personal use. I was talking with my boss about my printer and he asked me if I would be able to print a part that we are going to start designing a progressive die for. I just want to be sure that I am going to print it right since it is a relatively complex part and I do not want to waste material and time. I am going to attach a few pictures of the model and any tips or help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

The approximate dimensions are 1.5" x 1.75" x 2"
    Attached Images Attached Images

Student
    I am using PLA I forgot to add that in my post...

Staff Engineer
    You've taken on quite a project, especially considering how new you are to the activity.

Two primary factors, design and position/printing.

Regardless how you position the part on the print bed, you'll have a ton of support material to be printed to make it work. There are going to be weak points all over the part, because layer lines will fall perpendicular to long edges for every possible combination of orientation.

Has there been an STL file created? Do you have a preferred program for modeling? If you have engineering drawings, you're a step ahead, as you won't have to generate curves and dimensions and the rest. For this type of project, a parametric modeling program like Fusion 360 is probably a good choice. I'm a fan of OpenSCAD as many of the membership are aware, but building that springy thingy would be a challenge. It would be easier with full 3-view drawings, though, as I'd be able to create solids and negatives and take chunks out until only the spring remained.

At the very best, you'd get acceptable results by orienting the model to place the large flat areas vertical, and suffer tons of support on the skinny unsupported areas.

Good luck

Student