Close

[NEEDED] Resin printing needed please.

Hello I am a student looking to 3D print a small bust I modelled, it stands roughly 16cm tall and is 13cm wide on both axis, I have tried numerous 3D printing services online and have been massively unpleasently surprised with the price estimates. All the peices of the bust have been hollowed out with a 0.5-1 cm wall thickness and plenty of drainage holes however the estimates I've gotten for resin printing have been landing between 200-1000 for just one of the five peices, I do realise that if I want to commit to the hobby in the future then I'll have to end up buying one although for my first 3D print I really want to get an idea of the quality given by a resin printer first hand.

The reason I'm printing in resin rather than plastic material like PLA which I did entertain is even when printing in PLA the estimates still got up to ?60 for one of the 5 peices and if I am going to spend ?300 on the final print or more, I want it to be as close to professional as possible. Please help I am willing to spend all the postage and material costs and anything else necessary. Thank you,.

Student
    Add CarterTG on Thingiverse
    In the resin realm, only a small handful of desktop printers have the build envelope to accommodate a 13cm x 13cm model in one go. This is likely one of the reasons for the high quotes. The most prominent candidate would be the Formlabs printers with its 18 x 14.5 x 14.5 build envelope. Services printing with the Form 1 or Form 2 are probably factoring in a vat replacement in their quote since they use a PDMS material notorious for clouding from use.

In the Formlabs forum, I?ve seen used Form 1 machines dangled for $800 and Form 2 units posted for around $1800. The caveats being the unknowable health of the galvo/laser/mirror system and having to repeatedly buy new vats.

The other strategy might be to post a services wanted in their forum to solicit quotes based on target dimensions of the model.