Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Student
    Follow bruna597 On Twitter Add bruna597 on Facebook

Intellectual Property - legal case

Hey guys,

My name is Bruna and I am a law researcher from Brazil. I'm writing a paper about Intellectual Property and 3D Printing and I'd like your help to know if is there any legal case of someone being sued for printing an object protected under copyright or patent law, even if there is non-commercial use?

Thanks!

Staff Engineer
    Look into the RIAA's attempts to sue people for copying music. The two situations are almost identical, as long as a person doesn't attempt to sell his copied thing, then there's no case.

That said, the legal atmosphere in the court system today is a bit different today than it was in the early 2000s.

Yes there was a quadcopter thing about a month ago. http://www.3dprinterworld.com/articl...t-suit-settled

Staff Engineer
    Ah, but Bruna asked if it's possible "even if there is non-commercial use" IP infringements take effect if someone tries selling somebody elses work as their own. Just printing out copyrighted material for one's own personal use is completely legal in the US (and would be practically unenforcable if it were illegal).

Senior Engineer
    Lego and their procedures will probably give you some good input.

Student
    The only thing that could have been copyright protected in this Canadian case is the STL file itself. There is no copyright protection for physical objects. I guess the main legal question here is whether a STL file made available under a non-commercial use licence applies or extends to selling the physical object.??

Student
    Quote Originally Posted by anconchuir View Post