Close

Exclamation Monoprice Maker Select V2.1 Heating Woes

I've been printing since Aug 2018 when I initially got the Monoprice Maker Select V2.1. I first upgraded the bed to a glass plate which helped things immensely but I'm a tinkerer and I couldn't let well enough alone. I kept upgrading things. Next was a DiiiCooler which again was a fantastic upgrade. I decided to print a Z-Brace which went fine and at that point I figured since I had the whole thing apart I would upgrade the extruder lever and hot end with the Micro Swiss all metal versions. Up to this point, everything was fine.
    When I went to put everything back together though I had a big problem: One of the wires on the heat cartridge snapped. I read around and saw that it was a relatively easy fix so I found a heat cartridge online and ordered it. I was stupid, though, and I got a 6mm cartridge instead of the 6.3mm one. After trying to make it work I gave in and ordered the 6.3mm ones. They finally came and now I've gotten one installed but now it will only hit 200C if I don't have any kind of thermal protection on the hot end. With thermal protection it peters out around 175-180C.
    I'm still so new to all this...wiring included and I assume I've done something entirely stupid that has either ruined everything or is very easy to fix but I can't figure it out. So, I'm putting it out there. I'll do my best to answer any follow-up questions but I'm putting up the white flag.

EDIT:
    It was pointed out to me that I may have made a giant, stupid mistake. Apparently, when I was trying to find the proper cartridge I wasn't checking the voltage and that was changed between the Plus and the Select. I bought a 24v cartridge when it appears I needed a 12v. I've just ordered the 12v version and will update once I get it installed.

Since I can't post links yet here is a broken link to the reddit thread with the full upgrade list:
    https : / / tinyurl . com / y5kzpfex