Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Can't decide between Airwolf 3D HD or Ultimaker 2?

Hi guys, I am new to the three dimensional printing world and am looking for a first printer. I was originally set on the ultimaker 2, but then noticed the lead time was 6-8 weeks. Then I noticed a company called Airwolf. The HD or the upcoming HDx interested me. What are the pros and cons of each? I know the ultimaker community is excellent and I have not hear much of the Airwolf. Is it any good? I would consider the Form1, however I an kind of partial on the build size. I am not a 3d modeler by any means. The usage of the printer will be projects developed in CAD, kind of like gearboxes, robot replicas, etc.
    Last edited by Trollerizm; 06-08-2014 at 08:07 PM.

Engineer
    Tough one. I would probably say Airwolf 3D. I'm really liking the company. They just hired a big name from Toshiba as President and CEO last week. I have only herd good things about the company. Having said this Ultimaker 2 is on of the more popular 3d printers out there.

Is there a big difference in print quality between the two? I noticed ultimaker claim up to twenty microns, but i know 60 is probably the best you can get. Airwolf claims 60. So would this mean the quality is the same?

Engineer
    i am really not a fan of the airwolf stuff. they make a real pretty machine but that means nothing really. they way overuse plastic printed parts. every joint, bracket and piece on the printer is printed then they wrap it with brittle acrylic panels. do some digging, you will find that any of the people in the 3d printer world that know whats going on frown upon acrylic enclosures used as the actual structure of the machine. its brittle and has too much thermal expansion and its all held together with 100 different printed pieces. if you got $3k to plop down you want a rigid, metal framed printer....just my 2 cents