Close

Portabee GO problems - Extruder not extruding!

Note: (From the future!!! - sort of...)
    So, I've fixed the connection problem, but now the extruder won't work. I've posted more in a reply below...

Hello!
    I'm new to 3D printing. I ordered a Portabee GO (Link here, because apparently nobody else has heard of this printer - portabee3dprinter.com) back in December, and it finally arrived the other day. (I know, terrible shipping time. It had to go through 4+ countries to get to Canada which makes a very long shipping time, and a lot of customs fees. Also, the Portabee 3D people didn't actually ship it until after April) Anywho! I followed the quick start guide (set up and unfolded the printer, installed Pronterface). I've tried on both Windows and Ubuntu (Ubuntu is my preferred OS, but I don't really care as long as it works). I plug in the printer to the computer and the wall power outlet. I enter in the location of the printer (COM3 on windows, and /dev/ttyACM0 on Ubuntu), and set the baud rate to 250000, which is what the manual suggests. However, when I click connect, the status box on the right shows: "Connecting...", and the printer whirrs (I believe it's the extruder heating up), but nothing else happens. I've left it like this for about 1/2 an hour just to make sure I'm not being stupid and need to wait longer, but it still won't do anything. It just stays on "Connecting...". I know that not many people seem to know about this printer (The Portabee GO) in particular, but if anyone knew any similar printers (I believe it is a RepRap printer, and on windows it used a driver called RAMBo), or just how to fix this on 3D printers in general, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    - Luke