Close

Used Creator Pro Advise

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the 3d printing world and am in the market for a used printer. I'm currently looking at two options and am hoping you guys can help sway me.

Option 1:
    Odometer - 360 hours / 904 meters
    Price - $300
    This machine has had the fan replaced which cools the filament after it is extruded. Other than that the owner states it is 2-3 years old.

Option: 2
    Odometer - ? hours / 110 meters
    Price - $500
    This machine is stock with minimal use and no known issues. It is being sold as it was a backup unit and is 1-2 years old.

I understand this is not a lot of information to work with and both owners have sent images of the printers and have confirmed each function well.
    Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Oh yeah: option 4: https://knp3d.com/product/klic-n-pri...sktop-printer/

The klic-n-print is an unenclosed rep pro clone. Exceptionally well made. Won mine in a competition. Quality machine.
    All you'd need to do to enclose it is add top lid, front door and block the handle holes.
    It's a full steel frame so sticking stuff to it with magnest is simplicity itself.
    Mine currently looks like I've got half the office stuck to it :-)
    I've never bothered enclosing mine.
    I don't use abs and can't see the point of trying to get it hot enough to print with polycarbonate or any of the other 'super' filaments that need a hot print volume.

For $299 it's the bargain of the decade !

Use flashprint slicer for any of these machines.
    Works way better than simplify3 or makerware for dual printing.
    I'm currently using dimafix for bed adhesion - good stuff.

Ah - out of stock, oh well if you see one second hand - it's worth buying :-)
    Last edited by curious aardvark; 11-05-2018 at 07:14 AM.

well that's weird my first post has disappeared.

Basically get the cheap one - 900 metres is barely run in :-)

option 3: