Close

Thread: PETG Help

PETG Help

OK, so I am suddenly having some very odd issues specific to PETG. The symptoms sound like some more common issues, but I have been working on this for a while and it definitely is not a simple clog/ jam/ etc.

Some backstory: I was 100% noob to 3d printing when I got my Da Vinci 1.0a, and I immediately flashed Repetier to it and all was well. I experimented with different projects and materials like nylon, PLA, ABS, etc with success before I settled on PETG for my MPCNC project. At this point my printer has about 30 days of run time on it and I have learned a thing or two, but I am still a bit noob-ish.

So a few weeks ago I began printing to parts for my MPCNC and again all was well. Suddenly more than halfway through the parts list I am now having major print issues. Clicking, under extruding, if the print does finish its extremely weak and I can flex it by hand. Funny part is I have the exact same piece (among many others) printed on the exact same printer with the exact same settings that have all came out perfect. I am not sure why I am suddenly having this issue as the only thing that changed was the filament roll. Same exact filament, and I have even tried a different brand PETG filament and am seeing the same results. After making perfect prints through 3 other rolls I am reasonably sure that the filament is good, or at least that I didn't get 2 batches of lemon filament