Close

Student
    Add mstockwell on Thingiverse

Looking for design suggestions - SMT component reel holder

Good afternoon all!

I am a manufacturing engineer at a shop that manufactures circuit boards. I have been working with Solidworks 2016 for a little over a year, and I have become pretty proficient with it. Recently I have been tasked with creating a lot of 3D printed tooling to enhance some of our manufacturing operations, to which I have had some really great successes so far. I am currently working on a project where I have a relatively large SMT component reel that my operators are laying on a table to pull parts out of. In the process, they cause a lot of damage to the parts by bending leads - therefore I have been tasked with getting the reel up and off the workstation. As you can see from my first model, the reel holder is pretty robust and does this job nicely. The issue is that the parts are pretty heavy, so after pulling just a foot or 2 of tape off the reel, the reel wants to free-spool all of the parts off.

I need to come up with a way to tension the spool on the holder in order to A) minimize contact with the spool directly (so no spring steel pressure against the parts), and B) attempt to make this fully 3D printable for ease of replacements and duplications. I have no issue recessing steel hardware inside of printed components in order to make this robust either, so that is always an option. I hope someone here can set me off in the right direction to accomplish this goal!

Oh yeah and - 1st post!

SpoolHolder1.jpg

SpoolHolder2.jpg

Thank you for your time!

Michael
    Last edited by mstockwell; 07-02-2018 at 11:32 AM. Reason: forgot some wording