Close

Hybrid View

is drawing essential for 3d modeling/texturing...etc

Hello all,
    Newbie here why i ask this question, basically its because i'm a sound designer/music composer(sort of)...etc, i really enjoy what i do, but there are days when i get a little bit tired from music and sounds, and my hands gets really itchy to make something visual, so i decided to learn 3d modeling/texturing/animation etc the problem is i cant draw(i can draw something better than stickman, but that's basically it). so how many of you find drawing essential for 3d application, and how many of you didn't find it essential?btw i tried some other 3d apps on my friends computers, so i think i can call myself a beginner in 3d and maybe not a total Newbie .
    thanks for your answers.

I didn't find the right solution from the internet.
    References:
    https://www.blender.org/forum/viewtopic.php=20991
    Creative marketing studio

Staff Engineer
    Drawing, as in accurately reproducing a 3D scene in 2D by hand, is a nice skill to have, but it's not essential to 3D modeling. There are many ways to produce a model; you can scan something and import it, you can download something and modify it, or start with 3D solid "primitives" and combine them, make profiles and loft them, construct a network of curves and skin it, etc. And if you make a mistake, there's always control-Z.

You might have better luck, though, if you started with something else besides Blender. That program is well-known for its horrible interface (I know, some people love it - not me). Try different free programs to start with, until you find something that seems intuitive to you. Tinkercad, sketchup, Fusion360 - there are starting to be a lot of them to choose from. Of course, if you get into it, paying for a program that makes you more productive makes a lot of sense - with all the time you'll put into it, it works out to pennies an hour...