Close

Dual Projector DLP Printer Advice Needed

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this forum. I’m new to 3D printing. I want to build a Stereolithography printer.

Right now I’m in the design phase, figuring out exactly what I want to do. The software and hardware will be new to me.

My question for today is about using two projectors. I want to have a fairly large build area. I am wondering if I can use two projectors to get achieve an acceptable resolution. I don’t know if the software I will need to use to slice the model and make the picture images can support this, it seems like Creation Workshop is a popular choice? Also the software that controls the motion (is this also Creation Workshop?) and coordinates the projector flashes, will it support using two projectors? Obviously I would need to align the projectors and there would need to be a small overlap in the images.

I will be using a top down approach, so an LCD screen is out of the picture.

Has anyone ever done this before? Is there a build log I can follow somewhere? Are dual projectors an option in any of the software? Or perhaps I need a special graphics card that can automatically split the images irrespective of the 3d printing software?

Any info or advice is appreciated!

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    can't help with the build but most modern onboard graphics chips and motherboards support 2-3 discrete monitors. vga, dvi and hdmi, so that side of things shouldn't be a problem.

There is an english company that makes dlp 3d printers who have made printers with build playes as large as 50 inches. But I believe they use led screens rather than projectors.
    Given how cheap and bright a modern led tv/monitor is - that might make more sense and have a bottom up approach instead.