Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Ideas for lasers and resins

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to say how much i'm inspired by this community and project. I love the philosophy of peachy and I hope the open source nature stays that way. On that point, I am a polymer chemist and I wanted to experiment with a wide variety of new resins, including all-natural plant based ones. The only question I have now is will the peachy printer have a powerful enough laser to try to use while testing? I found and purchased for my own investigations a souped up 405nm laser from ebay: link http://bit.ly/1ixUZcD , and I was wondering if the peachy printer will allow for me to swap in this laser if I need more grunt for bioresins I'm testing?

Thanks!!!!

It's a 405nm 20mW, so less powerfull than you have!

Yes, you'll be able to swap the laser. If it dosent fit in the hole, you'll have to make a new support, else it will work. If the laser require too much power, you'll also have to use a 5V relay to open the laser instant of using the circuit directly.

Staff Engineer
    That laser looks like it wouldn't have trouble fitting into the Peachy assembly, though I don't know the specs on the lasers the beta testers got, if all else fails, you could use a little bit of regular resin to print a new laser mount and snap it into place with the way the P28 is constructed.

Also the idea of a plant-based photoresin is intriguing (and the term "Bioresin" has an awesome sound to it.) I've only barely researched how photoresins work and I'm pretty sure I only understood a fraction of what I've found, so you have my respect for trying. Good luck!

Engineer-in-Training
    Quote Originally Posted by amirjabri View Post
    ... the philosophy of peachy and I hope the open source nature stays that way.!
    I'm with you, the freedom respecting openness of the project is a big deal. I think it means a lot to a large portion of the community, and to the Peachy team.