Close

Student

3D Printer Newbie

Hi all

Im new to 3D printers and considering buying one but first wanted to ask how big can you make things or is there a limit to the size of a project.

Also can you replicate most things if you scan then

I would like to make the Postbox that people hire for weddings that are the size of the Royal Mail boxes in villages, can this be done or is it a project out of my comfort zone.

I would appreciate any suggestions to 3D printer to buy for a newbie.

Add Marm on Thingiverse
    The only size limit is the size of your printer. They've 3d printed working cars, livable houses, boats, etc. 3d printing is just a another name for "Automated Additive Manufacturing". Additive manufacturing is where the material is added layer by layer into it's final position, and the end product emerges. "Reductive Manufacturing" is where you start with a large piece of raw material, and remove material until the end product emerges. Like a machinists mill removing layers of aluminum from a large block. A CNC router, laser cutter, and a 3d printer are practically identical in design and build, right up until the working end. All 3 work on the same language, gcode, but a 3d printer lays down material, while a cutter and router remove it.

You can buy/build 3d printers to any size you want. Most hobbyist sized printers run in the 4"^3 to the 8"^3 range (That's 4" cubed to 8" cubed). I've been eyeballing one for printing RC boat hulls, so I'd want to build mine about 8"x12"x52". The one that printed the car I mentioned was the size of a shipping container (semi truck / lorry size). A place I worked at had an overhead 3 axis gantry crane that I wanted to convert into a 3d printer the size of a warehouse.