Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sticks too well

Sticks too well

I have a new Qidi X-One printer that is very good. I am completely new to 3D printing.
    Started using PETG on it at 75 degrees C Bed and 245 degrees Nozzle. The prints are quite good but I have a problem prying them off the bed even to the point of having to use a wood chisel to get some of the support structure for overhanging features off the bed.
    Will just lowering the temperature of the Bed help or will that cause other problems?

Engineer-in-Training
    Do you let the bed cool off to room temperature before prying them off?

I print on glass with 3DLac (hairspray). When cooling, the parts pop off by themselves. I just have to wait approx 15-25 minutes.

ABsolutely cold

Yes, I've allowed it to cool for hours and I've tried it when the printer just finishes.

Engineer-in-Training
    What is you bed material?

The surface is 3M's 9448A Double Coated Tissue Tape which is a nearly rigid 0.01" thick plastic with an adhesive backing to hold it to the heated aluminum plate bed. It is considered a consumable and has to be replaced when it becomes damaged.

Engineer-in-Training
    Well, that is your problem then. The acrylic adhesive on the top side (your printed part) will stick very strongly even at room temperature or below. I am flabbergasted why anyone would suggest that stuff.

If your want to print in PETG I strongly advise to move to a glass bed and 3DLac (or the infamous brand of special hairspray if you live in the US). Works the best I have found for PLA/PETG/ABS so far and you get a mirror-smooth heatbed side which can work out really good for some parts. And as I said, when cooled down the parts just pop off.

You can also try Printrite (Printbite?) with which others have good experience. When cooling down the parts also pop off, and it also works on a range of plastics. Curious Aardvark has made a lengthy post on that stuff, just search for it on the forum here.