Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Looking for Resin style printer

Hi guys, I'm new! I am also new to 3d printing. Im a 3d artist by day and want to print more of my stuff, but I'm tired of paying shapeways and then waiting... so I'd like to get one for home. I have almost decided on the Form2, the only thing putting me off is the price - not so much the unit itself but Fom labs seem to be very smart at keeping customers locked into their eco system, the resin cartridges being chipped, the trays being no good after ~2 litres ect

At these prices I would be wanting perfect prints everytime - and I know that won't be the case.

I also saw uniz3d's Slash on kickstarter - looks good, similar build volume, similarly tidy desktop unit, but cheaper and on paper higher res. + no moving lazer.

besides these two thees moonray and a few others.

Can anyone help me decide? I know the Slash isnt available yet but perhaps one of you well infomed guys can help point me right!

- I would be printing mostly sculpted characters, zbrush/ mudbox style stuff, something akin to garage kits

Thx guys
    Chris

Staff Engineer
    I wouldn't consider sending money to Kickstarter to be the equivalent of buying a machine; it's more like buying a lottery ticket. Just look at printers that are already on the market, with their track records and people's reviews posted.

To decide which one to get, figure out the part volume you need for the things you want to make, and the resolution you want on the surfaces. There are several resin-based printers on the market besides the Form2; like the Muve3d, B9 Creator, and Kudo3D.

It is possible to send the Form2 trays in for retrofitting with a glass bottom; that extends their life significantly: https://www.zvatindustries.com/ You can use 3rd party resins in Open Mode.