Close

Beginner Questions

I'm completely new to 3d Printers, the guy and gal at Microcenters convinced me that the Solidoodle 4 was the way to go. So I've followed the instructions on their website up to extruding filament and everything works fine. But the instructions pretty much end there, there's no calibration information or how to do your first print. Is there any calibration I need to do so that the extruder head doesn't damage the bed? Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Add RobH2 on Thingiverse
    Glad you have a printer. I know it seems daunting at first but it will get easier and it's not fundamentally that complex. There is a "TON" of the info you seek online. You'll need to spend some hours with Google. People here will be happy to help you but you'll need to do some of the homework yourself first and ask questions that are more specific based on your learning.

Besides searching this forum, there are lots of other forums. Just search for "3d printer forum" or " reprap forum" or "solidoodle forum" and you'll get hits. Here is one: http://www.soliforum.com/

Having said that, what you don't want to do is drive your hotend into your glass and break it. You might want to begin your playing around with adjusting the Z-height of your hotend by removing the glass and putting a piece of formcor in it's place, or any flat material. Once you figure out how to get the hot end close without driving it into the bed, then put your glass back on.

Search for "Solidoodle 4 calibration" and you find links. Here is one to get you started: http://wiki.solidoodle.com/solidoodle-1

I'm not ignoring your question. We all do want to help, but you need to demonstrate that you've spent some time helping yourself first. 3d printing is a endeavor that takes a lot of self-exploration that is very rewarding.

Good luck and we look forward to having you here. You are in for a great ride.
    Bambu P1S/AMS
    NVision4D http://nvision4d.com