Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Add Geoff on Thingiverse

Changing Filament - Avoid problems before they begin!

Last edited by Geoff; 03-27-2014 at 04:22 AM.

Add RobH2 on Thingiverse
    I love these little tips. We are all plagued by intermittent anomalies and these kinds of things can help ease the frustration. Who know if it's really a 100% perfect solution but it sounds reasonable.
    Bambu P1S/AMS
    NVision4D http://nvision4d.com

Add Geoff on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by RobH2 View Post
    I love these little tips. We are all plagued by intermittent anomalies and these kinds of things can help ease the frustration. Who know if it's really a 100% perfect solution but it sounds reasonable.
    Who knows, we are all new at this I guess I think of this more of a habit than a solution, I use filament from all different sources, I found the really bright colourful ones tended to do this, as well as the clear ABS, and since I started practicing this a few months ago, never had a block since.

i took the habit of cutting the filament just above the plastic plate that hold the strepstruders and always feeding it down, then runing about 1m of the new fillament. I have been doing this for 4 month and never had a problem changing filament.

Add Geoff on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by chomiliert View Post
    i took the habit of cutting the filament just above the plastic plate that hold the strepstruders and always feeding it down, then runing about 1m of the new fillament. I have been doing this for 4 month and never had a problem changing filament.
    This is probably more referring to dormant filament that has been left in the extruder for a while. If you are regularly changing filament then it shouldn't happen anyway.

Thanks so much for the tip Geoff! I've been wondering about best practice for changing filament.

Are there any other concerns a first timer should have about changing filament?

Engineer