Close

3D Printed Solar Panels Which Work Best When Cloudy

Scientists at Britain's National Physical Laboratory have developed a method of 3D printing Organic PV solar cells, which work best when the sun is hidden by clouds:

http://3dprint.com/1666/scientists-3...t-when-cloudy/

The technology is progressing fast, and should be in full use within the next 5 years. The cells can be printed in any color, or even transparent, and placed in any shape. They are also much lighter than traditional solar panels we are all used to so they can be placed on roofs and on windows without needed extra structural support. This is great for areas in the northern parts of America, Canada, and Northern Europe who see very little sun, especially in the winter.

Student
    Hi;
    I get excited by a lot of inventions, and as I always tell, it will never end ! My profession is inside IT, and I am focusing on 3D printing.
    But I am also very interested in energy efficiency, and development in that sector. Have so far not taken solar power too serious, as
    cost / performance seems to be of a problem, if commercial thinking.
    But, what you present her sounds very interesting, and I would like to get more news and technical understanding of this development.
    Solar parks built up with this, how would estimated production / economy look ? Is it too early to expect figures on this ?
    Am writing this just after reading the article in 3DPrint.com. Will of course start further investigations and search for info.
    I am sitting in Latvia, and see the interest both for Latvia, and also for Norway (am Norwegian).

Hi.
    Nice to see an increasing interest in organic solar cells.