Close

I want to lay this "base" down

I have this stl and it's for a part called "base". The part is now resting on it's edge and I want to lay it down flat to print it. I didn't draw the part and really don't know how to draw/manipulate parts. I was working with free cad. I can open it in freecad but basically I am stuck at that point. Also I can't even figure out how to select the object. I am a total newbie. I guess most helpful would be an easy way to do it and then have someone do it for me and post the new stl??? Thanks, James

I also have a problem of I don't know how to post the file? I do the attatchment thing select the file to upload, and press upload and the little thing spins but the file doesn't show in the list for me to drag it to the attatchment, so I assume I'm doing it wrong?

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    you do this in the slicer. Not a cad issue.

What slicer are you using ?

Also all forum uploads and attachments have been disabled.
    Nobody's owned to doing it or said why it was done.

It's a but like the stealth moderators, odd setup - but it's what we're stuck with :-)

I've got slic3r. I guess a good description of what I've got now we'll just pretend it's a rectangular block 2" x 3" and it's an 1/8" thick. as it is now it is on edge so it's 1/8 wide 3" long and stands 2" high. . I want to "lay" that rectangle down so it would be lieing flat 2" x 3" . In slic3r I see I can rotate parts as they lie on the plater in a clockwise or counter clockwise but I want to more like "knock" the shape over. Picture a domino standing upright and then you tip it over and then it's lieing flat. If any of that makes sense. Thanks

Follow ralphzoontjens On Twitter Add ralphzoontjens on Facebook Add ralphzoontjens on Shapeways Add ralphzoontjens on Thingiverse