Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Getting frustrated with things not sticking

I'm new to 3d printing. I inherited a printer from a guy who left our dept. at work. I've tried several different items and a few different materials but I'm having a terrible time getting things to stay stuck to the glass. Please forgive me if I don't use the correct terms for things, like I said I'm new. I've used ABS, HIPS, and PLA and am frustrated with them all. ABS and HIPS will stick to some degree but usually at some point during the print at least one corner will start to curl up. Sometimes the item is still usable, other times not. PLA doesn't seem to stick at all. I'm using the setting the previous guy left behind. Generally a nozzle temp of 240C and a bed temp of 120C. I've tried increasing these temps with no luck. What am I doing wrong?

Edit: Sorry, I forgot, I have a Lulzbot TAZ 5 printer.

PB2

Senior Engineer
    For sure it is way too hot. Stick with the PLA until you are successful and lower the temp to 190 with the heated bed turned off.

Get some hair spray to spray on the bed and let it dry before you start.

Make sure the bed is level and close. If the nozzle is too close to the bed then the extruder stepper will click because it is unable to push plastic out, if you are too far away it will not stick well, it has to flatten the extrusion against the bed on the first layer but not too much. That part is difficult and time consuming.

Engineer-in-Training
    Not all hairspray works as well as others. Aquanet extra super hold is the highly recommended:

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    use a gluestick. best all round temp for pla is 210, bed temp at 50c
    And your only problem with pla will be gettign the bloody thing off the bed :-)

Abs, never got it to succesfully stick to anything and no longer have any use for it anyway :-)