Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Advice for a 3D Printing Newbie

Hey guys, my name is Ronald. I am extremely interested in 3D printing. One day I'd like to design 3D objects, and print them on a future printer that I will own. I just have no clue where to start. I am an artist, and I am good with 3D design (at least I think I am). However, I have never even tried CAD or anything like that.

Where do you guys suggest I start? Do I start with some 3D software? Do I have a certain company print these designs for me? Any advice would be so much appreciated.

Thanks
    Ronald

Engineer-in-Training MysteryAlabaster's Avatar
    Follow MysteryAlabaster On Twitter
    Personally, I started using Tinkercad...

It's free and very simple to learn and use.

If you really want to print things before you have your own printer, then I think you should use shapeways.

If you ever need help with a model, or just don't know what to make then you can ask for help over at http://3dprintboard.com/forumdisplay...amp-Assistance

Student
    Like MA mentioned (above), find a basic modeling package (preferably something free), and start learning the ins and outs. I personally started by using Sketchup to mock-up simple CAD models, and a program called Kerkythea to render them photo-realistic.