Close

Banned

Easiest to use 3D printer?

I'm really new to 3d Printing, and am looking for a printer that is very user friendly. I'm not a tech expert by any means, but I love the idea of being able to print 3D objects. Are there any 3D printers on the market that really make the entire process very simple? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Maggie

Engineer
    MAKE magazine voted the Cube 3D printer (http://cubify.com/cube/) the easiest to use. I personally have used it a few times and must say it is pretty easy. Basically once you get used to them, most 3D printers are pretty easy to use from my experience.

Makerbot and Cubify are the 2 major ones. Cubify is produced by 3D Systems, and Makerbot by Stratasys, both NASDAQ traded companies. They are both known for their ease to use, quality, as well as priced at a decent amount for what you get.

Student
    MAKE also tested the pp3dp UP, and IMHO it's the overall easiest regarding hard- and software, great support structure generation, and quality is good, too!

http://makezine.com/review/make-ulti...inia-h-series/
    They had the PDF issue and review online for free for a while, not anymore it seems. Perhaps you can find the review somewhere.

I have tried Printrbot LC, Reprap Mendel and the UP, all Reprap based devices will give you more freedom but the software is not as smooth, and thus results are not as constant - the slicing is just as important as the printer's hardware reliability.

I had no clue about 3D printers when I bought it, and it worked from the start, even with complex and tiny models.

Banned
    Either of the 2 machine made by the big boys, 3D Systems, Cubify or Makerbot (Stratasys) would be the best bet. They have made these printers for the mainstream consumer, not just the DIY'ers out there. I have used both, and prefer Makerbot slightly over Cubify for ease.

Well i would go with a Cubify printer if you want it simple,