Close

Thread: Noobie Intro

Noobie Intro

Hi All
    Been trolling for a while now and thought I’d finally introduce myself.
    I’m a total noob to the world of 3D printing. I have been teaching myself how to design and taking classes at Youtube University. My background is more science based and my company has recently started exploring BioPrinting organs, skin, etc. This is what first peaked my interest and now I am hooked-spending most of my free time learning the different software and applications and how to apply it towards making my own profits. It looks like this board has a ton a great knowledge and I look forward to your feedback.

With that, I thought I’d drop my first question:

I am going to be moving towards posting (and hopefully selling) my ideas. Most of you are very experienced sellers and creators---What advice would you offer a noobie?...when starting out-Lessons learned, regrets, recommendations, “wish I had done this instead”…. I’d appreciate any advice.

Thanks in advance
    Choog

For manufacturing purposes I think my advice would be to buy a quality, well supported, enclosed printer. $400 can buy you a fairly impressive printer that will print PLA quite well, but these printers often aren't calibrated up to snuff and suffer from hot end issues that you really just don't want to deal with on a production level.

The Formlabs Form 2 is a resin based printer that will give you quality unrivaled by FDM/FFM printers. It's not cheap, but those things can produce parts that cheap FDM printers can't. Period.

The FDM printer I would recommend would be an Ultimaker 2+. It's basically a Cartesian printer with all of the issues addressed that a RepRap would normally be plagued with.

If you want to go more "RepRap", I suggest looking into Wanhao. They are Arduino based and have pretty amazing support for their price point. They are compatible with all of the free slicers and many people have championed Wanhao's as their Go-To production printer.