Close

Why is the flashforge 3d less popular then others?

Hi,

I'm currently looking into getting a 3D printer and am confused regarding why certain companies are more popular than others. (based on posts on this forum/videos on youtube/etc)

When looking into printers I see a few key items that will determine if one is right for you:
    Price, PLA/ABS ability, Single vs dual extruder, layer resolution, and for me-lead time to get the machine at my doorstep.

With that said, the Flashforge looks like a fantastic unit. When comparing it to the Rep2x it is more than half the price, same layer resolution, can do both PLA/ABS, BUT has a bit smaller build size.

I understand how branding allows companies to increase their price without having a sizable difference in quality, but seeing as I am new to this I cannot be sure its purely branding. Warranty/customer service, reliability may all play a huge role..

I'd love some input in this and see what others think.
    Last edited by tmaxxracer32; 02-27-2014 at 07:34 PM.

Add Geoff on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by tmaxxracer32 View Post
    Hi,

I'm currently looking into getting a 3D printer and am confused regarding why certain companies are more popular than others. (based on posts on this forum/videos on youtube/etc)

When looking into printers I see a few key items that will determine if one is right for you:
    Price, PLA/ABS ability, Single vs dual extruder, layer resolution, and for me-lead time to get the machine at my doorstep.

With that said, the Flashforge looks like a fantastic unit. When comparing it to the Rep2x it is more than half the price, same layer resolution, can do both PLA/ABS, BUT has a bit smaller build size.

I understand how branding allows companies to increase their price without having a sizable difference in quality, but seeing as I am new to this I cannot be sure its purely branding. Warranty/customer service, reliability may all play a huge role..