Close

Thread: Printer choice

Printer choice

Hi I'm thinking about getting a printer but with all the numbers and abbreviations I'm lost lol. I've included some pictures which are of items i would like to produce if possible but I'm stuck with what printer to buy. If anyone could lead me in the right direction it would be appreciated. Money is no object so I want the flexibility of being able to produce more complex items if I need to in the future. I do not know what type of filament is best either. Complete newbie.

Thanks.
    single-cup.JPGSingleHead.jpg

The cost of CTC-Bizer has been reduced again ( now $409. total)
    We have one and it's a very Good printer for the price.
    Needs only a few Mods to make it a great printer.
    (slicer software that will work with it is Limited tho,
    we had to continue using software that Came with it)

Here's link to eBay:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/CTC-3D-Black...oAAOSwv0tVSCyM

If money is no object the Ultimaker 2+ is a great printer, but so is the Flashforge Dreamer.

There's one real big driving factor on what printer you buy as a beginner. Do you want customer service or can you troubleshoot things on your own? Unless your willing to come onto these forums and hash out issues with your printer then I would recommend getting a well supported, well selling printer like the Ultimaker or Flashforge.

Typically you get what you pay for in ease of printing. $400 printers are capable of some amazing prints, but it usually involves a lot more than pressing "print". I've never used a $2000 printer but I understand the appeal of a complete software package that's already optimized for the scenarios that would normally limit a novice slicer.

If you're based in the US I recommend the Printrbot and Lulzbot line.