Close

Question 3D printing a scale model football stadium roof

Hi all,

Hope this is in the correct section.
    I'm building a 1:250 scale model of a football stadium, this one in particular:
    https://www.google.com.au/search?q=a...UIBygB#imgrc=_
    And due to the geometry involved, I'd like to 3D print the roof structure, however, being my first 3D print, I'm not too sure how to do it. I'm an architect grad so I've built many many models over the years, however, never anything this geometrically shaped and never anything 3D printed. I have modelled the stadium in sketch up and rhino, but I have a few questions for the printing.

1: can I print the roof as a whole, or would it be better in sections?
    2. Can I print the roof shell with gaps and the triangular panels separately and then insert them on completion instead as printing them as one big piece? (There will be A LOT of the triangle panels though covering the roof)
    3. Can I print the roof steel hollow so I can run wires through them for electrical lighting?
    4. Will the electrical wiring affect which material I can use due to the heat involved?
    5. Are there transparent materials so you can replicate opaque glass?

Any help would be appreciated
    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

Follow 3dex ltd On Twitter Add 3dex ltd on Facebook
    Thats a nice looking stadium!

The answers to all of your questions are yes but with a lot of "ifs" and "buts"

1. This depends how big the print bed is of your printer. If it is big enough to print as a whole you can do so but the likelihood is that you'll have to print your roof in parts.