Close

3D Designs & Patents?

I see so many truly unique designs all over the internet. However, my guess is that most of these people don't patent their ideas. Some of these are really great inventions, yet I highly doubt these designers are filing for patents for this stuff? What is to keep someone from stealing these ideas and patenting them themselves?

Maybe not patents, but they do have licenses for them. I'm not a patent attorney, but I would think that the license for the design would prevent a patent from being filed, but I could be wrong. Does anyone else know more about patents?

Student
    No I'm not an expert. As I see it if you publish something and the creation date is recorded it would be valid evidence later on if someone managed to patent or register the design somewhere else. Of course none of us are going to be able to afford to fight a legal battle so it's probably all academic anyway.
    It does bother me when I see things popping up on Kickstarter that are using open-source technology and claiming it to be their own design, even more so when commercial companies manufacture Mendel Prusa's and the like and make a profit from open source designs.

A good question.

I hope all of this great inventions are considered
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prior_art
    and thus not patentable anymore.
    Prerequisit is of course that you publish it to one of the major publishing plattforms
    and not on some obscure site nobody knows.

No matter which licence you choose (even with public domain)
    mere publishing on a plublicly visible place acts effectively as an "antipatent".

On the other hand you pay nothing for somthing more restrictive like
    CC-BY-NC or CC-BY-NC-SA-ND
    So if someone violates that license what then?
    As I understand the creator self can still use it commercially and even give out special permissions for others to do so (is that right?)