Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First design of a complete novice, MS Surface Pro holder

I am a complete novice to 3-D printing, and this is my first project. My design is a holder/tray for a Microsoft Surface Pro 4. I have attached a very rough design that I created in Tinkercad. All of the dimensions are nowhere near correct, but this is intended only to demonstrate the actual shape of the holder, since there are so many different types out there. This is simply the base. I have yet to add in side supports. I will have supports on all four sides sides to hold the tablet securely to the tray. At this point, what I really need to know is what material I can use and what the minimum width and thickness should be of the eight "planks". I am wanting to make it as light as possible, yet strong enough to support my nearly 2 pound tablet and a couple of USB accessories that will be secured to the tray as well. I would prefer to use ABS or Nylon, but I have no clue if they are strong enough.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

The advantage of 3D printing is you can iterate as much as you want for a small cost.

Use good engineering judgment : make it 5mm thick, use 3 shells. For materials, use nylon or PETG. PLA melts too low, if the table heats a bit, you'd take risks. For a wide flat part like this ABS is not the best choice and might be tricky to successfully print.

If it doesn't work, try again ;-)

Follow ServiceXp On Twitter Add ServiceXp on Google+ Add ServiceXp on Thingiverse
    For me, this is where all the fun is. I have no design ability but with low cost repetition I'm typically able to create a solution for a problem. Like LambdaFF says.. "If it doesn't work, try again".

Quote Originally Posted by LambdaFF View Post
    The advantage of 3D printing is you can iterate as much as you want for a small cost.