Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Dual-Extruders, are they worth it?

Finally buying my first printer. I'm an Electrical Engineer and I design UAV payload systems. I spend a lot of my time developing embedded MCU systems for small aircraft and that's what I need a printer for.
    I need to know if I should be swooning over FlashForges 3D Creator Pro with dual-extruders, or if the MakerGear M2 with it's single extruder? Thx in adv for anyone who can contribute their experience.
    The material I'll mostly be using is ColorFabs XT CF20. It seems to meet my needs for prototyping and I'm excited to test it out.

Now THIS is a good topic......

I'm new to the scene so I may not be much help but.....

Advantages might be....
    1). If one head fails you can switch over and use the other. (not within the same print of course)
    2). Some software utilizes optimization schemes that can improve print time and quality by using the two print heads for different tasks while printing the same object
    3). Multi color prints. Can't do that with a single head extruder (at least not near as easily)

Disadvantages might be....
    1). Costs more
    2). More to fail
    3). Second print head can get in the way and mess up a good print

ive had a dual extruder printer for a year now, and never used it.. I used each of them on their own for ABS or PLA, but never a dual color or whatever part. overrated IMO

I use mine a lot. I do a lot of intricate prototypes and use one extruder for the build material and the other for support material, specifically the tried and trusted ABS/HIPS combination. My work wouldn't be possible without dual extrusion. You do need to correctly align and calibrate the two extruders but that isn't exactly difficult. Once done though it really opens up a whole new whole of possibilities.