Close

0.02mm layer thickness possible with a filament printer?

I have been looking at the Wanhao duplicator 3d filament printer on various web pages and all say it can produce a 0.02mm layer height....can that really be possible with a filament printer?
    Looking at some photos of objects supposedly printed on this printer the resolution looks amazing, almost too good to be true!
    I'm new to 3d printing but I thought you could only produce that kind of resolution with an SLA printer.

http://3d-printers.ireviews.com/wanh...cator-5-review
    http://cjr.en.alibaba.com/product/13...D_Printer.html

Follow Davo On Twitter Add Davo on Facebook Add Davo on Google+ Add Davo on Shapeways Add Davo on Thingiverse
    Yes. I have printed 0.025mm (25 micron) layers, and my coworker has printed 0.010 (10 micron) layers with Hyrel printers.

You won't do it with a threaded rod in the Z, but that's why we use precision ball screws. We are positionally accurate in the Z to less than half a micron.

To be honest, to reach that kind of precision, you need a perfect bed levelling and with a dual head it will be a pain.
    If you NEED that kind of precision, why not go to a resin printer instead ?

Quote Originally Posted by LambdaFF View Post
    To be honest, to reach that kind of precision, you need a perfect bed levelling and with a dual head it will be a pain.

Two reasons, Firstly I am mostly interested in printing large objects and a resin printer is usually for small objects. Secondly its much cheaper and its less mess then liquid resin.

I'm actually trying to decide between XYZ Nobel SLA printer
    http://www.technologyoutlet.co.uk/co...sla-3d-printer

And Wanhao D5
    http://www.technologyoutlet.co.uk/co...ild-duplicator

They both have similar res so I'm tempted to buy the Wanhao because I will be able to print large objects

Add printbus on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by D4RR3N View Post
    ...I am mostly interested in printing large objects